Understanding storage & content delivery options
When you configure an instance of the editor, you have three options for image & file storage:
- BEE storage: unless you select another option, images will be hosted in BEE’s own AWS S3 bucket. See below for details about potential fees associated with this option.
- Your own AWS S3 bucket: instead of using BEE’s AWS S3 bucket to store & deliver files, you can use your own. See Configuring your own S3 bucket.
- Your own file system: if your application already has a place where images and other assets are stored, you can leverage it. This option is only available on BEE Plugin paid plans. See using your file system.
Images vs. other files
End users of the editor can upload not just images, but also PDF files and other documents via the editor’s file manager. For example, they could link a button to downloading a PDF report.
End-user documentation on the editor’s file manager can be found here.
If you need more control on what files users should be able to upload, you may activate file manager limitations in the Privacy & Security section of your app’s configuration. In alternative, you may consider connecting the editor to your file system.
About BEE storage
How images are stored & delivered
By default, images used in emails and pages created with the editor are stored in BEE’s file storage system. BEE uses Amazon Web Service’s S3 service for storage, and leverages Amazon’s Content Delivery Network (CloudFront) for fast content delivery.
Storage and delivery fees
- There are no charges for storing images & other documents.
- There are no charges for delivering images & other documents up to a total of 5TB of delivery traffic per 30-day period.
- Above 5TB of data traffic recorded in a 30-day period, you will be billed $0.01 per GB of data transferred.
FAQs on BEE Storage fees
Why do you charge for traffic when using BEE storage?
When you use the BEE S3 storage, your images are delivered via a Content Delivery Network (AWS Cloudfront) and AWS bills us based on the traffic generated by those assets when you send emails or publish web pages created with BEE. A large amount of monthly traffic (5TB) is included in your BEE Plugin subscription at no charge.
If you exceed the 5TB monthly traffic allotment, we ask you to cover the cost of the service (for a few of our customers that generate a lot of image data traffic, that cost has grown to exceed their BEE Plugin subscription fee). Please note that we’re just transferring that cost to you – we’re not making any money out of this. Also note that this scenario is quite rare: it applies to less than 3% of our customers.
When does the traffic counter reset?
- If you’re on a paid plan, billed monthly, the counter will reset on the same days as your UIDs and CSAPI calls, i.e., on the day your subscription to BEE Plugin is renewed.
- If you’re on a paid plan, billed yearly, the counter will reset on the 1st day of each month.
- If you’re on a free plan, the counter will reset on the 1st day of each month.
You can always see when the current period starts and ends in your application details, in the Statistics widget:
I’m on an annual plan. If I exceed the traffic quota in a month, when will I be billed?
You’ll be billed annually by summing up any paid traffic you may have accumulated during the past 12 months, unless such total were to exceed $1,000. In that case, we will send you an invoice. The same is true for additional user fees (UIDs) and additional API calls.
Do I get notified when I’m about to exceed the quota?
For the moment, only subscriptions on paid plans will be notified by our Customer Success team. If you’re on a free plan, you may check your usage by logging into your developer portal account, and going into the application details, in the Statistics widget.
I’m using BEE storage. What can I do to avoid getting charged?
Can I get a history of my monthly traffic usage?
Please contact your account manager for this. If you are not sure how to do this, please log into the Developer Portal and submit a support ticket asking for your usage history.